Blackpool, I love you!

Standard

Years ago, I used to visit Blackpool as a child. We used to visit relatives, who lived near Stanley Park, and have a pudding made by Auntie Madge,  which was superb, and foreverafter known as Auntiemades’spud…We always saw the illumintations on the way home. For those outside the UK, these are lights on the promenade. Tacky, possibly, but somehow, a bit marvellous. Later, Blackpool had the nearest ice skating rink, and we used to visit from the youth club. Older still, and Blackpool was a great place for a tacky weekend…Happy days!

Recently, the teenager was going away to Germany for a week with the school. I took the chance to go away for a few days. There is nothing like Blackpool to blow away the cobwebs on the seafront…Mother and Stepfather were staying in Blackpool and I booked into a hotel near the Tower.

Turns out that the lady who owned the hotel was brought up in my village. I bought my daughter a parrot who repeats your speech.. which seems entirely natural in Blackpool… The Dealers Market by the Winter Gardens is wonderful. I indulged myself with a 1950’s Wade dish… in my defence it is out on display and in use! I met up with an old school friend who lives nearby. We caught up with who had run away with whom….I like the fact that there is no fake language with Blackpool.  No  Chocolate Cake Code. You know, how someone tries to persuade another person to have another piece of cake…and the person says ” Oh no, I  couldn’t possibly…. it will go straight to  my hips!” and you are meant to argue until they have the cake that they were always going to eat anyhow….Just accept it and eat it…what’s the problem with cake exactly?

Which I suppose takes us to the point of “Say what you mean, and mean what you say”.  I am a Northener, from farming stock, so this comes naturally to me.  And if you are not saying anything that is going to hurt someone elses’s feelings, I don’t see why it should be a problem to anyone to anyone else…

Leave a Reply

