Is it just me?

Standard

Myself and teenage offspring have just come back from our summer mini-break. Funds being reduced, we managed three nights in a Northern Seaside Town, known for being good fun but not sophisticated in any way… Anyhoo, we went to the Guest House, which had a good sea front location. Warm welcome, and they even made us tea! The price we were paying meant that we were not expecting luxury. I knew this. I did not expect to find a pile of fluff, on full display in the corner behind the open tv unit, with a beer can pull and some cellophane nestled in it. I no longer expect tops of wardrobes to be dusted, but I do think that if you see it, you ought to be able to clean it! Later on in the holiday, I discoverd a rogue sock, none too clean under one of the beds, and a fag end under the other.

The sad part was that in many other ways the staff went ‘above and beyond’ to make sure we had a good time. They asked if there was anything that would have made our experience better. It would seem to be pointless to suggest that the cleaning could be improved, when they can see the problem the same as us. I understand that establishments do not have the money to invest at the moment, but basic cleaning? This would be the thing that would stop me making a return visit. I can’t be the only one. And it really is pointless asking what could be done to improve things when the answer is staring you in the face!

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I don’t think they should expect anyone to sleep in a room which had not Been cleaned properly for a long time, makes me wonder what else they skip, as presume u ate there, what was kitchen like.

Leave a Reply

