Lost socks and teenage soup

Standard

I have cleared out a teenagers bedroom. This was a somewhat traumatic experience, and one I have no desire to repeat in a huury. One of the problems is because it doesn’t look too bad on a cursory look, I assume that to be the case, despite previous evidence to the contrary… Said teenager has an annoying habbit of just ramming stuff in drawers and the wardrobe bottom, on a very arbitrary basis. So all is ok-ish until you open said drawer and find random stuff, usually accompanied by an odd sock. Always an odd one, never a pair. Pairs of knickers too. Clean clothes mixed with worn ones. Arghh! So then I end up with a big washing pile. I do however get the chance to marry/reunite my odd sock collection. They live sad lives in a carrier bag, and are a source of anxiety to me. I cannot describe the simplistic joy of playing Sock Snap, when a pair comes together. Teenager thwarts my Life Plan of having all pairs of socks in matching pairs constantly. She will take an ‘odd’ pair from the clothes airer, so perpetuating the odd sock cycle indefinately. I realise that I need to get out more, and yes, it’s a First World Problem, but as she is away I hope to have all socks in sets by the time of her return.
I’m taking bets on how few will be left in the odd sock bag. Prize for the winner! How many do you think?

6 responses »

  1. Odd socks Bain of my life. I now have large plastic box which I throw odd socks into, periodically I tip them out and sometimes the pairs have found the box, unfortunately I have never done this chore without having.g several odd socks left over, however if the same socks turn up twice without their other half I bin them, I onot do this when I have checked laundry. baskets, once it ascertained that the said sock is presumably missing. Sanity saved!

    missing they go via bin saved my sanity

Leave a Reply

