You can’t teach an old dog new tricks, but maybe (s)he can learn you one.

Standard

Driving home from the Orthodontist I was reminded of something I have thought for a very long time. I’m sure lots of other people have thought it too, and written about it, so I don’t claim to have had any sort of epiphany. I just think think its worth saying, again, as much to try and re-enforce the idea within myself as any other reason.

Dogs in the park. One of them enjoying a wonderfully uninhibited and joyous roll in the grass. Everything on show. Not worried about cellulite or wobble-tum. No does-my-bum-look-big-in-this angst.  Many of them just happy to be outside, in the fresh air, free to have a run round, tails-a-wag. And the absolute pinnacle of joy – finding a stick, ideally bigger than you are.

Living in the moment, not worrying about other stuff, just being very Present. And yes, I know…dogs don’t have to go to work, get mortgages, get divorced, deal with sometimes difficult children, and have wider family ‘stuff’.

But I wish, more often, I could really experience the absolute joy of the moment, without allowing thoughts of the next potential catastrophe to sabotage it for me.

I’m working on it.

4 responses »

  1. I too am trying daily to live in the moment, uphill struggle most days. I really need to work. On that one.

Leave a Reply

